Guest Codes Not Working

I’m new to Ring, and just installed a system in a house we’re getting ready to sell. My problem is that I’ve set up guest codes for the real estate agent and a couple of other people, but I can’t get the system to respond to the guest’s access codes. I’ve done everything I can think of, including setting schedules for the guests (all day and all seven days).

When I try to test the system using one of the guest codes, the Ring app reports the incident as “PIN Rejected”. Did I miss something, or is there something wrong with my system? Thanks a lot for your input!

Mike

Hi @MichaelCfffg! As long as you’ve created and successfully saved a guest code, and the guest is entering this code during the scheduled times, their PIN should work. Keep in mind that, at this time, Guest User schedules only apply to the Alarm Keypad. They do not apply to smart locks. For example, if your Guest User has an access code which works in your smart lock and uses the code in the lock outside of the scheduled hours, they will be able to get inside your home but would not be able to disarm the Alarm, potentially resulting in a false Alarm.

Please ensure the Alarm Keypad is being used with the correct Guest User code, during the desired times, if a schedule was set. Feel free to check out our help center article for more information on Guest User access. I hope this helps! :slight_smile:

Thanks for the quick response to my problem, Marley. From what I can tell I have correctly entered and saved my guests and their entry codes, but the system still won’t arm or disarm using their guest codes, and shows a “PIN Rejected” log entry. So now what?

We don’t have a smart lock on the house, just the basic 10-piece security system. The keypad is the only arming/disarming device in our system.