Remove the orange banner prompting me to upgrade to Protect Plan

Seriously, Ring? This STILL isn’t fixed?

1 Like

E-mails with Ring today – first, their e-mail to me:

Hi Clay,

It was a pleasure working with you today. I am glad we got everything taken care of. We deeply value your relationship with Ring and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service. Your feedback is highly appreciated, will work on this as soon as possible.

Should you have any questions or comments, remember you have a Neighbor here at Ring, and it is always me. Have a nice day!

Here at Ring, your safety and security is our top priority. To protect your Ring account, you should take advantage of two-step verification (2SV) available in the account settings of the Ring app. Please consider enabling the 2SV feature via text message in your account today. We also, recommend changing your password and making sure it’s different from any other password you use; it’s the best way to protect your Ring account. For more information on how to set up 2SV click here​​.

Thank you for contacting Ring!

For more information, please visit ring.com or our online help at support.ring.com.
Jen
Ring Community Support

Then, my response:

Hi Jen,

“I am glad we got everything taken care of.”

Well, no, we didn’t. When I stop seeing that orange banner, THEN it will have been taken care of. In the meantime, you have work to do to make it possible/easier for people like me to get rid of that stupid warning permanently – once I dismiss it, I do not EVER want to see it again unless I add another camera.

Thanks,
Clay

2 Likes

nobody care :rage: i think

I think the only way I’m going to get rid of the orange banner is sell my Ring devices and delete the app.

I agree, this is very annoying. I’ve now had two experiences with chat where they tried, in vain, to remove the banner. I PAY for two camera devices and yet I still get this alert to upgrade every time I log in. Which, btw, blocks the view of the cameras that I pay for.

This has nothing to do with the 30 trial period for me, btw. That time has long since passed.

Has anyone heard anything or also tried contacting customer support?

Agreed. I would like this removed as well.

Restating an earlier reply from another Ring Neighbor; sign-out of the Ring app and sign back in.

I was having the same problem with the annoying orange banner and it is gone since I signed out/in. Please note that you need to sign out/in to the app itself, closing/restarting it doesn’t fix the problem.

  1. Tap the three lines in upper left of the Ring dashboard
  2. Tap ‘Account Settings’. (NOT the plain ‘Settings’, must tap ‘Account Settings’)
  3. Tap ‘Sign Out’ at bottom
  4. Tap red ‘Sign Out’ pop-up button
  5. Sign back in.

Hopefully Tech Support will confirm this fix and communicate it as needed.

1 Like

Signing out and back in does not remove the privacy invading orange banner.
I won’t be buying anymore Ring devices. Clearly Ring has no intention of listening nor helping its customers, since this thread has been posted since March 2020.

I thought the Trial banner would go away after I signed up for the basic plan, but now the banner is pushing for Protect Pro. I will begin my search for yet another camera and alarm provider.

This is really annoying why can’t we remove it permanently?

Every single time I go into dashboard, this little orange button pops up to remind me that I only have 28 days left to sign up for Protect Pro. Every. Time. Even if I dismiss it, then check a camera or sensor, then come back to the dashboard, there it is again, bright orange in your face advertisement. If you tap the X and miss by a millimeter, it flips you right over to a web browser so you can get out your credit card and sign up for more more more.

For the love of God how can I turn this off? I paid a lot of money for a lot of devices, I pay monthly for a protect account, it’s fine for now, I should be able to dismiss this inane upgrade reminder permanently.

1 Like

Does anyone from ring monitor this forum? Why are paying users subjected to this nagging prompt to further upgrade?

Users are getting rightly ■■■■■■ off - will you do something about it?

1 Like

Completely agree, Ring needs to get their act together and remove this nag.
I refuse to subscribe mate than the basic and will never buy another ring device while this nag exists.

It would be nice if it was that easy. Sadly signing out and back in makes no difference at all.

Confirmed with Ring support via chat that you cannot remove the nag bar.
Asked them to raise it with the development team.

3 years since this was first reported and no fix. This is annoying AF and I will be looking for another solution that doesn’t spam me with sales multiple times per app usage.

I have a Ring alarm and use the protect plan, not the pro protect. I just had to deal with a popup trying to force me to upgrade to the pro plan for the last 2 weeks. It pops up every time you change screens. So irritating and horrible, horrible marketing. It seriously take away from the previously positive experience of using the app. It finally went away after 2 weeks. I just bought a new camera and the popup is back and it will continue for 29 more days. Horrible, horrible, horrible marketing trying to force customers to bye professional monitoring when they don’t want it. It is so offensive to me. Please remove this and stop trying to force your pro plan on those who don’t want it. Horrible way to market a product. Questionable business practice in my opinion.

I have ten ring cameras in my home. I recently put one in my mother’s living room (with her knowledge and consent) to be able to monitor her sitting area remotely in case she does not answer her phone. The problem is, Ring wants some outlandish price to add the extra camera at the location, and I do not care to have that camera record anyway. Now, every time my wife or I open our ring app, we get an annoying pop-up saying “Your videos are not being saved. Learn more about the Ring Protect Plan.” I already have ten subscribed cameras and know about the plan. I do not think I need to be closing this pop-up every time I go into the app. MAKE IT STOP!

1 Like

I hate this so much. I’m a new ring user and subscriber and I can’t wait for these things to die so I can move off this system. I’ll be recommending people avoid ring.

1 Like

thanks!!!
that actually worked