Feature Request Board

Browse posts, comment and give us recommendations for improvement about features on Ring.com and in the Ring app.
M
Improve person detection / alerts
hardwired-security-cameras
motion-settings
app-request

I get false alerts every single day and night, for things that are not people, being detected as people, by my Ring system. This includes insects, squirrels, shadows, etc.

I had one dozen Nest cameras running for 6+ years and rarely ever got a false alert, maybe once every 6 months total, people detection was accurate. In contrast, with Ring, I have been running a few cameras for the past two months and have experienced multiple false alerts nearly every day and night, totaling hundreds (100s) of false alerts in only two months. I have Nest cameras side-by-side the ring cameras, with the same settings to only notify me of People, and the Ring cameras are highly inaccurate based on my testing.

As a security professional, false alerts actually decrease security, which is not good.

My ask is simple, for Ring to please improve people detection / alerts. AI and machine learning exists in 2022. Insects, squirrels, shadows are not people. Please improve!

PS. I have done extensive troubleshooting, contacted Ring support, etc, to no avail. So this is now a feature request.

Thank you

19-08-2022 02:19:35

Responses (15)

R
We are having the same issue, the bugs keep the flood lights on all night. The ring camera doesn’t record the bugs but the the flood light sensor is really sensitive, I have went through multiple settings and the only solution is to manually turn on the light and keep the motion-activated light settings off which defeates the whole purpose of the flood light. I agree that ring needs to fix this issue.

22-08-2022 03:08:56

P
Yup my notifications go off every day with nothing there. Very frustrating when you’re trying to catch thieves!

24-08-2022 08:13:25

U