Direct Current & Alternating Current (Plug-In Adapter 2nd Gen.)

About Plug-In Adapter (2nd Gen).
https://ring.com/collections/all-products/products/video-doorbell-plugin-adapter-gen-2
The following is a description of this product.
Power Output 24VDC, 0.5A 12.0W
Is the power output for this product Alternating Current or Direct Current?
However, this is printed on the back of ring video doorbell pro.
Only connected terminals to wiring from a doorbell with a voltage of 16 VAC-24VAC.
Why 24VDC to 16 VAC-24VAC?
I’m not very good at English.

I have the same question. The new Plug-In Adapter (2nd Gen) ( https://ring.com/collections/accessories/products/video-doorbell-plugin-adapter-gen-2) ) says that the Power Output is 24V DC, 0.5A, 12.0W.

However the Ring Video Doorbell Pro says it requires between 16V-24V AC.

Will the new second gen adapter which has DC power work fine with the Ring Pro which requires AC power?

1 Like

The Ring Video Doorbell Pro says it requires 16V-24 V AC , but this new Adapter provides output of 24V DC. Will DC work when the Ring Pro devices requires AC?

Is this safe?

Glad you asked, neighbors! Great observation of the DC power rating. Normally, we do indeed advise against DC power for the Doorbell Pro, as it requires AC. In the case of the Plug-in Adapter (2nd gen), the Doorbell Pro certainly will work with this power supply. This Plug-in Adapter is the only current exception to the Doorbell Pro’s power requirements, and hardwired in any other method should use AC power. I hope this helps! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you, manager. I understand. I was relieved. :wink:

Hi Marley_Ring are you advising that it is ok to disregard the bright orange warning sticker on the back of my Ring Pro that says to only connect it to AC power?