Is it possible to see if a motion recording has been deleted, and if so by which person or device? We have a ring doorbell and activity I was expecting to see wasn’t there and there’s a big gap where the recording should have been. A few people have access to the ring system so I’m trying to see if the camera didn’t capture the moment, or it has been deleted. An event log just saying a user has deleted a video would be enough to help me out. I at least know there’s something suspicious I should investigate.
Hi @Lotussmart123! A shared user is not able to delete any recordings or videos. If you are sharing account access at an owner level, there is no way to see the activity of these other devices. You can, however, control mobile device access through the Control Center in the Ring app. Your control center will allow you to remove authorized client devices if you believe someone might be deleting recordings. I hope this helps!
As a sub-question (I’ve searched everywhere on the help and community for the answer): I have an additional user set up for some of my cameras. When they log in with their account, do they access the same “cloud” as me? Basically, if I delete a couple of videos does it delete them for the other user as well? I’m guessing yes, as nothing is downloaded to device unless you deliberately do so. Any event view is on the shared cloud recording. Thanks for any clarification. I’ve enjoyed catching chipmunks and moose in my yard when I’m not watching out the window!
Good question @PLMK68, and I’ll be happy to clarify! Your thoughts are correct in that you are the owner of the recordings and subscription. If you invite a shared user to your Ring device, they are only able to view recordings for the particular device they are shared on, and as long as those recordings exist on your owner account. This means that any videos you delete are deleted from the account and subscription/ cloud, making it no longer accessible to shared users.
Did you clarify IF shared users have the ability to delete? I have blank (black) spots and I tested what deleting looks like and it does make a black spot in my timeline. I’m hoping shared user can only view with no rights to do anything with the data they are allowed to see.
Glad you asked @Caraessel! Shared users are NOT able to do the following:
- Delete stored videos or shared videos.
- Delete devices from your account.
- Change or adjust any device settings.
- Add other Shared Users.
Our help center article about Share Users includes this and more information about what Shared Users can do.
If you are noticing black or blank videos, the best first step will be to check your wifi signal, or RSSI, in the device health section of your Ring app. I recommend also ensuring your Ring app is up to date. I hope this helps!
Is there any way to retrieve a history that videos have or haven’t been deleted. I understand there not recoverable, however do you track that deletions have it haven’t occurred?
Hi @Thekingslaw. There is not a way to see what videos have deleted in the Ring app, but this would be a great idea! As we value our neighbors’ feedback, we’ve created a Feature Request board. Feel free to add this and any future feature requests there. This will help us to organize and share your requests with our teams here, as well as allow other neighbors to comment and add interest, all in one place. Feel free to link that post you make in the Feature Request board here so other neighbors that come to this thread can easily find your feature!