Xfinity Wifi, are they actively blocking Ring System?

I canceled by cable TV / Home Security and upgraded my internet to a gig.

Then I purchased the Ring home secuirty. $100 for a year of monitoring is a good price.

The one issue I had is I can connect all the wireless devices to the Xfinity WIFI but they can’t connect to what every server they are trying to connect to.

I went round and round with both Ring and Xfinity. Ring said it was a firewall issue. Which would make sense. But I am a IT Professional and I know that the firewall on the Xfinity device was set to allow everything in. Wide open. So that wasnt’ the issue. Or at least what I have access to told me that it was.

I don’t know what made me thing this would have an affect but I still had my Netgear R8500 Router so I connected it to the Xfinity modem directly and then connected the Ring system to it via WIFI.

So now I have the Ring connected to the SSID of the Netgear and the outside interface of the Netgear connected to the Xfinity modem.

And it works. Makes absolutly no sence. Why would the Ring not work on the Xfinity Wifi but work just fine when it is masked behind my Netgear on its Wifi?

Unless Xfinity is activly blocking Ring when it is on its Wifi. Maybe it sees it now as a Netgear device and not a Ring device? I know when I look at my Xfinity modem it lists all connected devices. And none of the ring devices show up. Only the Netgear Wifi.

Just a thought.

3 Likes

I just bought a pair of stick up cams and lo and behold, ended here on this forum looking for ways to get the setup app to see my Xfinity gateway modem. Apparently there used to be a way to switch the modem to 2.4 from 5.0 ghz but no more. I’ve seen enough on the internet in the last few minutes to feel your “Xfinity is blocking Ring” theory is correct.

I wish Ring would say “Our products are not compatible with Xfinity Gateway modems” before I wasted my money on $200 worth of paper weights.

1 Like