Ring doorbell not charging

I’ve been using mine since May 2018, then after the Jan 2020 firmware update it started to discharge. It’s the firmware, and probably the addition of Person Detection.

I wouldn’t “upgrade” to the Pro version and give Ring more money. If I’m “upgrading” its to a competitor. Even if they fix the problem, the lack of acknowledgement, the blaming of the customers, and lack of support make me not want to support Ring anymore. I’m done. They have until my Annual Subscription runs out, then I’m cancelling and moving to another company.

Wyze can’t release their Doorbell fast enough. At least they have amazing customer service.

to thedavidfield, I would like to join a class action situation but not sure I can from Canada. The only problem is that I will not put my email address in anything public that is run by RING. If there is another way to get connected that would likely work. I am seriously dropping the community here as I am tired of the 2 stage login which is ridiculous, just another red herring to throw everyone off by RING. They are concentrating on the wrong things for sure.

Update: Ring moderators just cut off more than half of my message in an attempt to silence us!

1 Like

@thedavidfield

Yup most of your original message is missing. WTF Ring!?

@thedavidfield original message

“ READ ME!

To all those who are all of a sudden experiencing issues with charging the DoorBell 2, read this. Notice the DoorBell 2 worked, held a charge with no issues until recently? Also notice the Ring app now has a battery percentage indicator. Notice further when you click the “?” under device health next to the battery status you get the page “Your Ring Doorbell is Losing Power.”

Really? Interesting Ring, very interesting. So all of a suddent, my ~20v AC is not enough to power and charge the Doorbell? Lies!