Doorbell Pro stopped working after about 3-4 days

Short version first: I’m a computer network engineer with a lot of experience in wireless - so unless there’s some super secret-squirrel way of resetting this thing, I’m pretty sure the network chip (at least) has died. The Ring’s MAC address never shows up on my network, and the setup SSID is not visible to any device.

Long version - got the device through Woot/Amazon. Installed it with no problem, used the resistor module in my chime box, everything worked perfectly. Ring app reports last known power “good”, last wifi strength was -63. No problems there.

Now I get a solid white ring. When I click the setup button I get the circling blue ring and “Ring doorbell is in setup mode”. Try to connect with the app 10 times and it never connects. Don’t see the Ring in my wifi networks list (Yes, I know it could be non-broadcast, but that’s pointless). Never connects. Hit button again and it goes out of setup mode and eventually says it can’t reach the internet (left white LED). The ring has not joined my wifi (which hasn’t changed) and its MAC address is not showing up as a client, or rogue, or anything else - completely invisible.

I have held the setup button for 30 seconds until the LEDs go out. Doesn’t change any of the above behaviors.

3 Likes