Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn more about Amazon Sidewalk here!

Can't get ring doorbell 2 off mounting bracket

Highlighted
New Neighbor

Re: Can't get ring doorbell 2 off mounting bracket

Just got mine today and having the same issue as everyone else.  Maddening to say the least.  I was finally able to use a paint scraper at the top edges and worked my way down each side and it came off easily.  Hope this saves someone some time!

Highlighted
New Neighbor

It doesn’t slide up. It pulls out from the bottom. Easy when back plate installed but when it isn’t it’s difficult to remove.I managed to get my nail in at the bottom then it all made sense.
Highlighted
New Neighbor

This is madness. im 3hrs wrestling to get this back plate off this 2nd gen product. No QR code anywhere to be seen. And I do this for a living. lols. 

**SOLVED** 

Ok, so it just separates from the bottom. So, get a knife and literally slide it between device and bracket along the bottom edge. Then twist the knife until the doorbell separates away from the bracket. The pivot / attachment is on the top.

**CONCL** 

If you're gonna ship with the bracket attached, update the instructions. Please!

Highlighted
New Neighbor

@Whoever12 wrote:

**SOLVED** 

Ok, so it just separates from the bottom. So, get a knife and literally slide it between device and bracket along the bottom edge. Then twist the knife until the doorbell separates away from the bracket. The pivot / attachment is on the top.

So this worked for me (finally), thanks! Unfortunately I'm a clumsy idiot and also ended up with three stitches in my finger, so yeah, it would be nice if they made that easier.

Highlighted
Community Manager

We're sorry to hear this, @badluddite. We would love for a team member to reach out to you to discuss this in more detail. Would it be okay for us to contact you at the email address associated with your Community account?