Video timeout

Hi there

I’m new to the Ring products/services and have just turned on my 1st Stickup cam plug-in. I see from both the phone and windows apps that the video stops after a short while and has to be reactiviated via the Live View button.

Is it possible to control how long the streaming goes on for, if not indefinitely?

Thanks

Sadly Ring only allows about 10 minutes and then will disconnect. This is normal. If you need constant steaming a DVR camera system would be better. Ring is all about detection and notifications really.

1 Like

That’s a shame as with a plug in camera, would be useful to be able to watch the back yard while working at home upstairs in the office, rather than as-and-whn you hear a noise, connected and having a look more of a reaction. IO agree, cctv is more for that but I just oved and no longer have cameras all over and figured a few ring cameras wired in would do the job and easier to setup.

Hello @keefnet ,

An outdoor Ring Video Camera is designed to record video when it detects a motion-triggering event, so therefore it cannot record 24/7. But there is a way to come pretty close to 24/7, especially if your main intent is to monitoring/recording videos, and not so concerned about being ‘notified’ when triggering motion is detected. You mentioned getting several cameras, and I’ll tell you what I did, and then you can decide for yourself, if what I did might satisfy your needs.

My main goal was to monitor & record activity in my front yard (that also faces my street, but you can use these techniques for your backyard). IWhenever I say “street facing” cam, you just think “Backyard.”

I purchased several Ring " Stick-up Cam Plug-in" cameras. You could do this with other externally-outlet powered Ring cameras models too (I would Not consider any Solar-power), but you definitely should NOT want to purchase any battery version camera, because: