Things you DIDN’T WANT TO KNOW about Motion Detectors!

Why did I use this topic title? Well, after you read this post you’ll probably think, “You did all that minutia? Too much stuff. I didn’t need to know all that. All I need to know is do they work or not!” To those of you that feel that way, I apologize. But I think it’s cool and I wanted to share. I am not a professional researcher/scientist, but I’m definitely a very curious Nerd. Due to the Covid-19, this occupied my time. Yeah, I know . . . get a life . . . but I wanted to confirm & verify things for myself, especially before posting online in this forum.

After doing online research, I decided to conducted some experiments on my own. Here are some things I learned:

1. Ring Motions Detectors have a “Dwell-time” (reset-time) after detecting motion. From a Ring Support Center article (for Generation 1), "Motion Detectors have a built-in function called “dwell time.” Dwell time means that after a Motion Detector is tripped it will need a three-minute period in which it detects no motion in order to “reset” back to its default detection mode. This prevents the sensor from sending out multiple alerts for the same motion.”

https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/articles/360001133103-Re-setting-Your-Motion-Detector-1st-gen-After-it-Triggers

2. The Ring Motion Detector (Generation 2) apparently has a Dwell-time too. I was unsuccessful finding any online information about the 2nd generation detectors. But my experiments found that Generation 2 has a shorter Dwell-time of under 30 seconds! (more details below)