Serious Safety Flaw - please correct!

I’m no security expert, but it makes sense for the motion sensors to disregard the 3 minute interval once the exit delay has expired. The system should assume that everyone has already left and any motion from that point forward should trigger the sensor regardless of the timeout period.

For example, let’s say that you arm the system and activate the 60 second exit delay. 30 seconds later, trigger a motion sensor on the way out the door. The motion sensor should rearm in another 30 seconds once the exit delay ends instead of 2.5 minutes to reach the end of the 3 minute “timeout” period.

2.5 minutes may not be a lot of time, but as OP said… its 2.5 minutes of being vulnerable that seems to be an easy fix.

I haven’t tested any of this myself, so I’ll be interested to know how it turns out.

I’ve not had a chance to do more testing - hope to do so in the next day or so. I will put my alarm in ‘self’ monitoring mode (to play it safe). I’ll test how the motion sensors react to the 'home ’ and ‘away’ modes and report back.

It would be interesting if others can test as well to see if it is a global issue.

Thanks, @SoriceConsulting. From my findings, the three minute wait time for motion detection seems to be an industry standard for alarm systems. But I’d like to point out that our Contact Sensors do have a customizable Entry Delay. If someone were to enter the home when armed in either Home or Away Mode, they would first trigger the Contact Sensor on the door or window before triggering the Motion Detector. At that point, the Alarm will sound as soon as the Entry Delay is over. You can set the Entry Delay to 0 seconds, in order to sound the Alarm immediately (keeping in mind that you may be more likely to accidentally trigger false alarms).

1 Like

Thanks Jennifer! Appreciate your keeping on top of this subject. My concern is from experience with our prior system (which we happily replaced with Ring!).