Not ready for prime time

This unit is very easy to install. Since I’m not tech savvy, I had to call several times for setup assistance - CS rep was very helpful and almost immediately available - less than two minutes wait time each time. My home has too many potential points of entry to use contact sensors so I’m using motion sensors which work very well and are adjustable for sensitivity. The unit comes supplied with a contact sensor which I use to protect my outside storage shed. One downside is that the unit uses a 2.4 gigabit wifi not 5.4 gigabit. ( I think that most or all home routers are dual speed ) .Build quality seems to be good and rated battery life is supposed to be 3 years. I also have the low cost Ring doorbell which is also very good investment. So far I am not 100% satisfied with this unit. The first thing is that although it “works with Alexa” functionality is limited. You can arm, disarm and check armed status, BUT Alexa doesn’t detect that the Ring alarm has been tripped so you cannot use the Ring/Alexa to perform functions such as turning on lights. Secondly, they Ring does not support the Dome Siren that they sell and the Ring System does Not provide full functionality of the Dome Siren such as volume control or the 12 alternate siren tones. Thirdly, the Ring System does not provide IFTTT compatibility so that any third party devices that you may already own will most probably not work with ring even if they can be controlled with Alexa. I will probably continue to use the Ring system for now, but I definitely would not have purchased it if I knew in advance of its’ shortcomings. As a basic monitored alarm system it works. My biggest single complaint is the lack of support of the Dome Siren which is so weak that you cannot hear it in the next room - burglars would get a big laugh out of it

1 Like