Disable keypad's "full battery" indicator LED light

Yeah I call BS on this being an engineering limitation.

(I am a software engineer)

1 Like

Ugh. I just don’t understand why the brightness setting in the app does not control all the lights one the keypad. Seems like a big miss for the Ring team.

I was asked by two neighbors recently about my experience with the Ring Alarm system and this was my major complaint.

Please update.

1 Like

The only options appear to be tape, or unplug and run off battery. Though I’ve noticed that running on Battery causes the door entry “chirps” to be out of sync with each other. I have two keypads and the base station that all play chirps at different times when on battery, but are perfectly in sync when running on AC. The app used to warn about this when enabling chirps on keypads…

2 Likes

Yeah, that’s a huge design fail on the super-bright always-on green battery LED (when keypad is powered)! Should have had it only light up on motion sense like the keypad digits when the battery is fully charged. Even if it does require a hardware change, PLEASE rev the hardware soon and fix it! Your customers are suffering.

While you’re at it, the keypad & mounting bracket have a major design flaw in that they do not easily support the USB power cable coming out of the wall instead of hanging straight down outside the wall (in which case you can use the groove in the back). It’s just BARELY possible to slide the keypad into the mount when the cable is coming through the wall, and requires bending the heck out of the cable (likely to fracture wires if done repeatedly).

2 Likes

This response was nearly a year ago. I recently installed Ring and am dealing with the same issue. There HAS to be a fix for this, especially knowing that your users are literally losing sleep due to your product.

2 Likes

The only fix is to use tape or return it. Sad but true.

2 Likes