Remove the orange banner prompting me to upgrade to Protect Plus

nobody care :rage: i think

I think the only way I’m going to get rid of the orange banner is sell my Ring devices and delete the app.

I agree, this is very annoying. I’ve now had two experiences with chat where they tried, in vain, to remove the banner. I PAY for two camera devices and yet I still get this alert to upgrade every time I log in. Which, btw, blocks the view of the cameras that I pay for.

This has nothing to do with the 30 trial period for me, btw. That time has long since passed.

Has anyone heard anything or also tried contacting customer support?

Agreed. I would like this removed as well.

Restating an earlier reply from another Ring Neighbor; sign-out of the Ring app and sign back in.

I was having the same problem with the annoying orange banner and it is gone since I signed out/in. Please note that you need to sign out/in to the app itself, closing/restarting it doesn’t fix the problem.

  1. Tap the three lines in upper left of the Ring dashboard
  2. Tap ‘Account Settings’. (NOT the plain ‘Settings’, must tap ‘Account Settings’)
  3. Tap ‘Sign Out’ at bottom
  4. Tap red ‘Sign Out’ pop-up button
  5. Sign back in.

Hopefully Tech Support will confirm this fix and communicate it as needed.

1 Like

Signing out and back in does not remove the privacy invading orange banner.
I won’t be buying anymore Ring devices. Clearly Ring has no intention of listening nor helping its customers, since this thread has been posted since March 2020.

I thought the Trial banner would go away after I signed up for the basic plan, but now the banner is pushing for Protect Pro. I will begin my search for yet another camera and alarm provider.

This is really annoying why can’t we remove it permanently?

Every single time I go into dashboard, this little orange button pops up to remind me that I only have 28 days left to sign up for Protect Pro. Every. Time. Even if I dismiss it, then check a camera or sensor, then come back to the dashboard, there it is again, bright orange in your face advertisement. If you tap the X and miss by a millimeter, it flips you right over to a web browser so you can get out your credit card and sign up for more more more.

For the love of God how can I turn this off? I paid a lot of money for a lot of devices, I pay monthly for a protect account, it’s fine for now, I should be able to dismiss this inane upgrade reminder permanently.

1 Like

Does anyone from ring monitor this forum? Why are paying users subjected to this nagging prompt to further upgrade?

Users are getting rightly ■■■■■■ off - will you do something about it?

1 Like

Completely agree, Ring needs to get their act together and remove this nag.
I refuse to subscribe mate than the basic and will never buy another ring device while this nag exists.

It would be nice if it was that easy. Sadly signing out and back in makes no difference at all.

Confirmed with Ring support via chat that you cannot remove the nag bar.
Asked them to raise it with the development team.

3 years since this was first reported and no fix. This is annoying AF and I will be looking for another solution that doesn’t spam me with sales multiple times per app usage.